SLJ Connecting with your Whenua – Kick Start

This afternoon, I have done this task of Connecting with your Whenua – Kick Start.

Learn: I watched a video on some of Aotearoa’s/New Zealand’s amazing beauty – which I could find out walking.

Create: I went on a walk that shares the beauty of my whenua/land and made a photo collage of my walk.

Share:

I had the most fun jumping into the water and collecting pebbles which made both my favourite thing in this activity. I designed this using Canva, and the place I went to was called Waimakariri Gorge. I went today because we randomly drove past so we stopped by.

2 Facts on this location:

  1. There was (and still is) a bridge (but is not seen in the photos) and the height of the Waimakariri Gorge bridge is 30m.
  2. The Waimakariri Gorge Bridge was built in The Waimakariri Gorge Bridge was built in 1876 by William Stocks. by William Stocks which was 148 years ago.

Where is the land you are connected to?

2 thoughts on “SLJ Connecting with your Whenua – Kick Start

  1. Kia ora Isa,

    What a cool outing. You mentioned the Waimakariri bridge but you said we couldn’t see it. Where is the bridge located and what type of bridge is it?

    You said the funnest part was jumping in the water to collect pebbles. What did you do with the pebbles? Do you know hot to skim a pebble? If so, what’s the most jumps you’ve been able to do. I have been able to get 4 before but mostly I get 2 or 3.

    What else did you do in the gorge? Did you do a walk? My favourite thing about places like that is doing a big walk then jumping in at the end when you are super hot. Rivers are always very cold. Was the water cold?

    I live in Christchurch, specifically in New Brighton so I connect with my whenua by going for walks along the beach or taking a swim in the ocean. There is nothing that resets my hauora more than spending time on the beach. There is something very therapeutic about it don’t you think?

    What’s your favourite part of nature? Rivers, beaches, forests etc.

    Anna
    SLJ

    1. Hi Anna,
      The bridge is actually right above me. I am standing in the shadow of it. It was just a bridge for cars 30m above me.
      I didn’t stone skim with the pebbles because I didn’t wanna disturb the marine lives in the water.
      I only went in the gorge to dip my feet in the nice cool water. It wasn’t cold at all seeing that day was hot.
      My favourite part of nature is water on a hot day and trails so I can ride my bike. I didn’t ride my bike that day because I didn’t bring my bike.
      From Isa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *