SLJ Human Sundial Kick Start

Today, I did an activity named Human Sundial, also related to another post plus kick start to my previous post.

Related post: https://nbcisam.edublogs.org/2023/12/31/slj-shadow-art-step-it-up-extension/

Previous post: https://nbcisam.edublogs.org/2024/01/16/slj-sundial-step-it-up/

 

Learn: I watched some examples of Human Sundials.

Create: I made my own Human Sundial. I used chalk, my mum, and me.

Share:

I made it by drawing a circle, stepping inside the centre of the circle, and my mum draw my shadow every hour. I loved this activity as it was simple, easy, and a head start for me. My favourite part was eating a peach while the shadow was being drawn. A fact: Did you know that as the sun moves across the sky, the shadow changes which tells us the time it’s currently is. Also, a Sundial cannot be used in the nighttime as they are no sun there. The moon is not enough light to create a shadow to tell the time for us.

Where would you prefer to set out your human sundial?

2 thoughts on “SLJ Human Sundial Kick Start

  1. Kia ora Isa,

    It is Charlotte again, a Summer Learning Journey Blog Commenter. Wow, what a great job you have done on your ‘Human Sundial’ activity!

    Isn’t it amazing how this activity works? When you are busy with everyday activities you don’t really notice the sun moving across the sky but you can see it quite obviously in your picture!

    In answer to your question, I would choose a very sunny spot to create my sundial because otherwise it wouldn’t work very well!

    In the olden days people used sundials to tell the time. I wonder what they did when the weather was bad. Do you have any ideas?

    Ngā Mihi Nui
    Charlotte Visser
    Summer Learning Journey

    1. Hi Charlotte,
      Thank you for commenting my post.
      I had a look on google about how people tell the time when the sundial is not working. I actually found it quite interesting when I saw the water clock. I thought it was the modern toy and never thought it was used in the old days. I saw the egg timer from the library as the egg timer belonged to one of the librarian there which work very similar to the water timer as well. But it has sand in the egg timer instead of water.
      From Isa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *