SLJ Shadow art Kick Start

This morning, the task was creating shadow art. Firstly, you need an object or something that creates a shadow, paper, pen or pencil (I recommend pencil), and colouring materials. Then you trace over your thing and colour it. Your art is finished!

I did it with a baby animal and it did not work well. I had my mum help me because a baby animal about 6 days old is very jumpy. So from my experience, I rather recommend using something that DOES NOT MOVE! Otherwise, it is very challenging. That was the hardest part.

To me, the easiest part was colouring. I got out my colouring pencils and coloured so it was easy. Also, another thing that made it easy was the fact that they didn’t really have much colour. So at least that helped.

Now, finally, I have completed my art. Can you guess what I traced? The answer is a code on the paper…

For another hint, here it comes…

The answer was Quail chick Japanese.

Which type of animal are you a fan of?

2 thoughts on “SLJ Shadow art Kick Start

  1. Mōrena Isa,

    What a fun and creative activity, it is great that you had enough sun to be able to spot some shadows. We have been having the worst rainy weather so this activity would have been super hard for me to complete.

    You described this activity so beautifully in your description and I think your shadow drawing is amazing. I love that you continued to persevere even when your drawing subject was difficult to work with.

    I think those little Japanese Quail chicks are so cute, do they have names?

    What did you enjoy the most about this activity?

    Ngā mihi nui,
    Zana Yates
    SLJ

    1. Hi Zana,
      Yes, these two Japanese Quails has names, one is Jack and the other is Sally. They were hatched just before Christmas, names from the movie “The nightmare before Christmas¨.
      I enjoyed the most in this activity is including my pets and I can share my joy with the people when they read my post from my drawing.
      From Isa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *