SLJ Under The Sea Step It Up

Today’s activities is all about Under the sea. This afternoon’s task was to create an underwater robot and the goal of it is to be as creative as you can. I made a Grinch themed underwater robot using my whiteboard, google images, google drawings and template. Some functions like get water and blow water makes it move faster, and functions like receiver are there for you to drive the robot. Here comes my underwater robot…

My robot is like a swimming Grinch. What is your robot like/would be like?

2 thoughts on “SLJ Under The Sea Step It Up

  1. Kia ora Isa,

    Now that Isa might just be the coolest underwater robot I have ever seen. I might be a bit bias because I love The Grinch. You were clearly inspired by the Christmas spirit. Have you watched The Grinch recently?

    You have thought about the functionality of the underwater robot a lot. Making sure it can move through the water smoothly, recording all it sees so it can be looked at by the controller of the robot. My favourite part is that it gets water through its nose and blows it out through its bum. Does this serve as the robot’s way of breathing underwater?

    What would my robot look like? Good question. I think I would make mine look like a snapper. An everyday fish that can blend in anywhere and see everything. My robot would be called Snapperot, a mixture of snapper and robot together. My Snapperot would have a special coating on it that would make predators like sharks uninterested in eating it. Maybe I should try and create my own underwater robot.

    You are doing an awesome job with all the blogging Isa, keep it up.
    Anna

  2. Kia Ora Isa,
    What a great way to repurpose a character. I am with Anna on the cool factor of your robot.
    Your explanation is detailed and I love how you talked about how the operator can control it. You have a well-thought-out design.
    My design would be like a teacher or mum with eyes in the back of its head (to check for dangers coming from behind) To enjoy the marine life I would also include a pouch for food to entice the fish to come closer. However, I don’t think it would have feet but tracks like a digger. As for a name: Oppilas – is the Finnish word for learner and reminds me of optometrist – which comes from the Greek word opsis (view).

    Kia pai tō rā, and keep blogging
    Whaea Tanya
    Ako Hiko Facilitator

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *