SLJ Tessellations Kick Start

This morning’s activity was about creating a regular tessellation. A tessellation is like patterns for an example floor tiles or driveways. Tessellations are split into two parts, regular tessellations and irregular tessellations.

The task: Using Mathigon, create your own regular tessellation. A regular tessellation is using one regular polygon only but repeated. The only possible shapes are triangles, squares/rectangles, and from pentagons to dodecagons plus anything in between.

I chose my shape of a hexagon but with patterns originally on it is because it is having a cool effect of what I see. It applies to the regular tessellation rule as it is in the shape of a hexagon even though with patterns. I found two different patterns on the hexagons and I couldn’t decide which one so I did two of them for this task. All I did was copying and pasting as it had to be the same shape over and over again. I thought the orange pink and green standard out really well together so I chose those colours on it. The result turned out to be this.

Which would you choose and for what reason?

2 thoughts on “SLJ Tessellations Kick Start

  1. Mōrena Isa,

    What an incredible post, you did such an amazing job introducing this activity and explaining to your readers exactly what tessellations are and explaining the process you followed to create your art, including why you chose the shapes and colours.

    The only thing missing is what you enjoyed about the activity. I personally enjoy this activity because I think tessellations are very satisfying when done correctly!!

    I think the two you created are very cool and very different. I like that you used different colours and shapes to really try out creating your own tessellations. Which one is your favourite?

    Ngā mihi nui,
    Zana Yates
    SLJ

    1. Hi Zana,
      Oops….Sorry I forgot to say because I had so much fun and enjoyment making the patterns and shapes in this task. When I finished creating, I was so satisfied with my results.
      I couldn’t choose which one I like it most. I like both of them, that’s why I posted them both in my blog.
      From Isa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *